SECTION 82.20. License Requirements--Individuals  


Latest version.
  • (a) To be eligible for a Class A Barber Certificate, Barber Instructor License, Barber Technician License, Manicurist License, Barber Technician/Manicurist License, Barber Technician/Hair Weaving License or Hair Weaving Specialty Certificate of Registration, an applicant must:

    (1) submit the completed application on a department-approved form;

    (2) pass the applicable examination;

    (3) pay the fee required under §82.80; and

    (4) meet other applicable requirements of the Act, this section, and the applicable curriculum standards set forth in §82.120.

    (b) To be eligible for a Student Permit, an applicant must:

    (1) submit the completed application on a department-approved form;

    (2) pay the fee required under §82.80; and

    (3) meet other applicable requirements of the Act, this section and the applicable curriculum standards set forth in §82.120.

    (c) Class A Barber Certificate--To be eligible for a Class A barber certificate, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.253.

    (d) Barber Instructor License--To be eligible for a Barber Instructor License, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.254.

    (e) Barber Technician License--To be eligible for a Barber Technician License, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.256.

    (f) Manicurist License--To be eligible for a Manicurist license, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.257.

    (g) Hair Weaving Specialty Certificate of Registration--To be eligible for a Hair Weaving Specialty Certificate of Registration, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.258.

    (h) Student Permit--To be eligible for a Student permit, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.260.

    (i) Barber Technician/Manicurist Specialty License--To be eligible for a Barber Technician/Manicurist Specialty License, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.262.

    (j) Barber Technician/Hair Weaving Specialty License--To be eligible for a Barber Technician/Hair Weaving Specialty License, an applicant must meet the eligibility requirements set forth in Texas Occupations Code §1601.263.

    (k) To be eligible for a Specialty Instructor License as a Manicurist Instructor, Barber Technician Instructor, Barber Technician/Manicurist Instructor, Barber Technician/Hair Weaving Instructor, or Hair Weaving Instructor, an applicant must:

    (1) submit the completed application on a department-approved form;

    (2) pay the fee required under §82.80;

    (3) be at least 18 years of age;

    (4) have a high school diploma or high school equivalency certificate;

    (5) hold a current specialty license in the specialty or specialties in which the applicant is seeking licensure; and

    (A) have completed a course consisting of 750 hours of instruction in barber courses and methods of teaching in a barber school; or

    (B) have at least one year of licensed work experience in each of the specialties in which the applicant is seeking licensure; and

    (i) have completed 500 hours of instruction in barber courses and methods of teaching in a barber school, or

    (ii) have completed 15 semester hours in education courses from an accredited college or university within the 10 years preceding the date of the application; or

    (iii) have obtained a degree in education from an accredited college or university; and

    (6) pass a written and practical exam required under §82.21.

    (l) To operate a remote service business an individual must be licensed to practice barbering and must:

    (1) in a manner prescribed by the department, notify the department of the intent to operate a remote service business;

    (2) provide a permanent mailing address; and

    (3) verify that the remote service business complies with the requirements of the Act and this chapter.

    (m) The purpose of this transition rule is to provide guidance on how to implement the transition from 1,500 to 1,000 hours.

    (1) Beginning January 1, 2020, the department may allow students enrolled on or after January 1, 2020 in a 1,500-hour program to transfer hours towards a 1,000-hour program if the hours meet the required technical standards. A student enrolling in barber school on or after January 1, 2020 may request to transfer completed hours of a 1,500-hour program towards an approved 1,000-hour program or to transfer to another school.

    (2) Upon request of a student enrolled on or after January 1, 2020, the school must apply hours earned towards a 1,000-hour program if the school has an approved 1,000-hour program or allow the student to transfer to another school. This rule expires on December 1, 2020.

Source Note: The provisions of this §82.20 adopted to be effective December 8, 2005, 30 TexReg 8075; amended to be effective March 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 1268; amended to be effective August 1, 2006, 31 TexReg 5947; amended to be effective October 11, 2007, 32 TexReg 7048; amended to be effective February 1, 2012, 37 TexReg 319; amended to be effective January 1, 2014, 38 TexReg 9518; amended to be effective July 1, 2014, 39 TexReg 4646; amended to be effective January 1, 2016, 40 TexReg 8758; amended to be effective January 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 79; amended to be effective March 15, 2020, 45 TexReg 1688